Foreign Flavors: Recipes from Around the World

IMG_2337

Mmmm…Nepali momos.

When I was commissioned to write a series of “sensory articles” for a travel publication, I noticed that half of the stories I wrote were about food. After a few minutes of feeling like a glutton, I realized that food really is an essential part of the travel experience. Most of us nomad-types would agree that is the very reason we travel — new experiences, something we can’t get at home.

I am incredibly fortunate to live in Miami, Florida. One of the greatest things about where I live is the ethnic diversity. In a twenty-mile radius, I have access to Turkish, Arabic, German, Italian, Vietnamese, Chinese, Brazilian, Cuban and Indian supermarkets. Not to mention the typical American supermarket, with its endless variety. This has helped me to recreate some of my favorite overseas dishes.

So, that brings me to my new series, Foreign Flavors. I will be sharing some of my favorite recipes from my travels abroad.  I’ve been lucky enough to have taken two cooking courses while abroad, one in Cambodia and another in India.  Unfortunately, after a series of terrible gastrointestinal ailments in India, the words “chicken biriyani” still cause my stomach to do some unpleasant flip-flops. So Indian recipes will not be posted too soon! First up will be a recipe for Andalusian-Moroccan cinnamon chicken, koshary (the quintessential Egyptian street food), followed by some of my favorite Cambodian meals, like chicken amok and beef loc lac.

I am looking for guest bloggers to help me out with this new series. If you have any local/ethnic recipes to share, please contact me! I will, of course, provide a link back to your blog or help you out with any other type of promotion you would like.

5 responses to “Foreign Flavors: Recipes from Around the World

  1. Nepali momos looks like Uzbekistani momos. One of the most popular dishes in western Saudi Arabia, especially in Mecca. We call it Manto. My judgement is based on the picture tho.

What do you think? Leave your comments, compliments and critiques below.

