How a Life of Travel Prepares You for the Wonder (Horror?) of Childbirth

Childbirth banner

I have ridden an alpine slide down the Great Wall of China, and a horse through the ruins of Petra. I have gazed at a picturesque sunset behind the Taj Mahal and a sunrise over Angkor Wat. I clambered down in the depths of one of the Pyramids of Giza and climbed to the top of St Paul’s Cathedral for a bird’s eye view of London. So when people told me that childbirth would be the most amazing thing I’ve ever experienced, I was a bit skeptical. How could the incredibly painful and rather disgusting act of squeezing a weird little life form out of my private parts compete with these incredible experiences? But strangely enough, the day of childbirth had some very striking parallels to my travels.

 
Since I am writing this as my little one naps, I’ll be posting these one or two at a time as I find the time to write! Just want to get things started after laying dormant for so long…
 

1. Labor Pains = Traveler’s Food Poisoning

As a lifelong writer, I still struggle with words to describe the anguish of labor pains. I suffered through an hour of the most excruciating cramps as I waited for the saintly doctor who brought me my epidural. (I would actually like to recommend the inventors of this miracle of modern medicine for sainthood.) The closest thing I’ve ever experienced to that pain was from a nasty bout of food poisoning I picked up on my first trip to Prague. It was at a certain hotel (whose name I have forgotten) where I learned never to trust the meat in a free breakfast buffet. As my husband ran for the nearest bathroom while we were exploring Charles Bridge. I sat on a bench feeling as if there were swords inside my abdomen trying to make an escape. It was the most discomfort I’d ever felt until the day my daughter made her debut in this world.

There are worse places to sit out excruciating stomach cramps caused by a bad hotel breakfast...

There are worse places to sit out excruciating stomach cramps caused by a bad hotel breakfast…

Continue to Part 2…

3 responses to “How a Life of Travel Prepares You for the Wonder (Horror?) of Childbirth

  1. Pingback: How a Life of Travel Prepares You for the Wonder (Horror?) of Childbirth: Part 2 | Bohemian on a Budget·

  2. Pingback: Bohemian on a Budget·

  3. Pingback: Bits of August – The Power of Friendship, Milkshakes, and Hypothetical Rifts In The Space-Time Continuum | Journeys of the Fabulist·

What do you think? Leave your comments, compliments and critiques below.

